You can connect to social media through the update screen as well as in your profile settings.
If your event organizer has enabled the option to share to external social networks directly from the app, you will see a Twitter, Facebook, and/or LinkedIn icon when posting a status update or checking in. Simply tap these icons to enable sharing for the social network of your choice, then tap the check mark icon to post your message. The social media icons will appear grey when not selected, and highlighted in color when you tap on them to indicate your post will be shared to that social network.
To disconnect from social media, navigate to your profile by tapping your name in the app menu, then tapping the app overflow menu and selecting "Settings". From there you can tap on Twitter, Facebook, or LinkedIn to disconnect or connect.
Keep in mind that only the text of your update will be pushed out to social networks, as photos will appear in the form of a link and check-in-items you’ve connected in the app (such as an agenda session) will not appear outside the app.